SDLC Phases- Understanding the Software Development Life Cycle

SDLC Phases Explained and Defined

The System Development Life Cycle, or SDLC, is a structured process that’s used to develop a model or framework for quality system development. Initially, the SDLC consisted of five stages but it has shifted and swelled to include seven phases to ensure comprehensive analysis and development.

Let’s explore the SDLC phases and what each one means for businesses in every industry.
1. Planning
In order to determine the business requirement, it’s vital that you don’t skip the planning phase. This phase mainly belongs to project managers. The planning phase consists of meetings with department heads to determine who the potential system will affect, who will be using the system, how will they use it, and how data will be gathered. This is often the phase where our team is contacted to answer general questions about the software development process.

2. Analysis
Once all of the information is gathered, it’s time to analyze the source of the businesses problem or areas of opportunity. Any concerns can be analyzed to determine the best system solution. The team will discuss functionality, as well as practicality, and how to meet their businesses needs. To complete the analysis phase properly, you may need some help. A few tools businesses can use are Computer Aided Systems/Software Engineering (CASE) and structured analysis.

3. Design
In this phase, the system’s specifications are identified. This phase is monumental for the success of the system, as identifying hardware and system requirement is included. Consider the design phase on par with architecture; the system is mapped out, defined, and any specifications needed for its success are identified.

4. Development
Development, the fourth of the software development life cycle phases, is where programmers can thrive! A programmer, database developer, or network engineer has the opportunity to organize the system’s process and begin developing the process and identify training opportunities.

5. Testing
Code can’t be successfully implemented without testing first! Once developed, the fifth phase is Quality Assurance. The developed process will be tested repeatedly to ensure that the addressed needs are being solved, as well as check for bugs, any errors, or pieces of the code that doesn’t function. Once tested successfully, the development phase will be verified and eventually proved valid.

6. Implementation

SDLC Phases by 3Si2

Implementation is where the fun really begins! It’s during this sixth phase, once the system has designed documents and the work is segmented into units (or modules) that the coding actually begins. The installation of the new system will also take place during this phase. This can be a somewhat risky phase since there is direct cutover. However, the risk can be minimized by installing the new system during off-peak hours. Due to the nuances and intricacies involved with coding, this is without a doubt, the longest phase of the software development process.

7. Maintenance
The seventh and final phase of the software life cycle is maintenance and the updates the system will regularly need. This is an ongoing phase that will always be changing based on new technology, increased needs, and any additional future changes.

SDLC Phases? Got It! …Now What?

Understanding SDLC phases are just one piece to the puzzle. If a team doesn’t feel comfortable taking on the delicate nature of software development, 3Si2, Inc. has been helping local and international businesses find a solution.
For more information on our software development services, contact us by filling out our convenient online form.

T James :

Software Systems & Services

International Inc. 1902 Wright Place Suite 200, Carlsbad, CA 92008


Phone: 877-776-2849

Local: 858-278-3742 | Fax : 1 800 960 8006

BBB Rating: A+

BBB Rating: A+